Introduction, part 5 continued

19 01 2009

While I was at the hospital, I heard loud screaming from the next room.  I went to go see what was happening and saw another lady whose arm was cut off by a rocket.  She was looking for something to kill herself with because she used to braid people’s hair for a living and now she was missing her whole arm.  Many people went in to comfort her.  They were playing music that was very popular during the 2003 war.  I can’t remember all the words, but part of it said, “Do not cry anymore, Jesus knows about you.  Do not worry anymore, crying cannot solve it, worry cannot solve it.  If no one cares about your problem in life Jesus cares about it.”  I remember one time we were in a workshop and someone said something that remained with me, “In the Liberian setting do not be fast to give words, but listen to the cry of the people and then you will know where their hurt is.”  That was truth.  All the woman was saying was she wanted to kill herself because she had no way to support herself.  With a population estimated by the UN to be about 3,367,000 in 2003 and many Liberians living on less than $1/day already, being a handicapped person makes it even more difficult.  I was standing there and wanted to say something, but just stood there grieving for her in my heart and couldn’t speak.  I was thankful nothing had happened to me, but could not stop thinking about all the innocent people who had lost their lives.


Actions

Information

One response

25 01 2009
Mercy Campbell

Hi Brother Munty,
That is really frighten, I was so afraid of the war in Liberia. During war war two.We were almost to be killed. But there is a man that is not sleeping up there. Pleaese tell Jason Happy Birthday for me. We wasn’t here that weekend so i didn’t call him. My Mom, Dad and I went to Idaho for one of my friend’s wedding. How are you doing? Please tell everyone hello for me. I love you. Have a great day.
Love Mercy~

Leave a comment